Denton DWI Lawyer
Driving while intoxicated or DWI is usually considered as a misdemeanor in the state of Texas if it is your first offense. However, the possible consequences are much more severe than other types of misdemeanors. If you are convicted for the offense, you will face jail time, administrative fees termed as surcharges, heavy fines and a potential license suspension. Under the criminal law of the state, a DWI accusation would require the police to show that you were operating a motor vehicle with a BAC or Blood Alcohol Content of .08 and above, or you have mental and physical impairment because of the introduction of alcohol and/or drugs into your system.
As a former Assistant District Attorney and now Denton area DWI attorney, Mike Goolsby has handled thousands of DWI cases and knows what to look for to give you the best chance to win in trial.
The police will first have to establish probable cause in order to make a traffic stop. They would then develop evidence that will prove that you were driving drunk to make an arrest. This is done through observation of your actions. These include fumbling with your wallet, failure to stop at the traffic light, over speeding, admitting to having a few drinks and failing a field sobriety test. If you have done any of these, the police may have probable cause to arrest you for driving while intoxicated.
Driving while intoxicated is considered as class B misdemeanor if it is your first offense and is punishable by a fine that will not exceed 2,000 dollars and county jail time of from 3 to 180 days. However, even if it is your first offense, the charge can be aggravated by certain conditions. These include:
- Driving while intoxicated with a minor – driving while drunk with a child who is below 15 years old inside the vehicle is considered as state jail felony and is punishable by from 180 days to two years state jail sentence with a possible fine that will not exceed 10,000 dollars
- Driving while intoxicated assault – causing serious injury to another individual while driving while intoxicated is considered as a third degree felony, which is punishable by from two to ten years in state prison with a possible fine that will not exceed 10,000 dollars.
- Driving while intoxicated manslaughter – if you kill another individual while driving while intoxicated, you will be charged with a second degree felony that is punishable by from two to 20 years in state prison and a possible fine that will not exceed 10,000 dollars.
What make driving while intoxicated even worse are its possible civil consequences. They are independent of any criminal charges that may be brought against you and could be expensive. They can also affect your right to drive.
Because of the severe consequences of a driving while intoxicated conviction, you should never face the charges without a skilled and experienced Denton area criminal defense lawyer by your side. The Goolsby Law Firm can help in defending you in court against a DWI accusation. We have handled countless DWI cases in the Denton area and throughout North Texas and have the experience and resources to obtain the most favorable outcome for your case. Call our attorneys today at The Goolsby Law Firm for a free initial DWI consultation.