Category Archives: DWI Arrest Procedures

If you are pulled over for driving while intoxicated, there are certain things you can do (and refuse to do) that can help with your defense.

How to Calculate Your Own Blood Alcohol Level

Alcohol DWI

Blood Alcohol Content, or BAC, is one of the most crucial components of determining DWI arrests. BAC is a measure of the ratio of alcohol in your blood. The most accurate way to measure your BAC is to take an actual blood test, because this will give you an exact percentage. Luckily, there are other ways to calculate your own BAC that will give you a very close estimation. Knowing different ways to calculate your…
Read More »

Posted in DWI Arrest Procedures | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Is There Such a Thing as a Marijuana Breathalyzer?

Possession of Marijuana

In recent years, there has been an effort to create a marijuana breathalyzer, or a reliable breath test to show how much THC (the active ingredient in marijuana that makes you high) is in a person’s body. Companies like Cannabix Technologies and Hound Labs are engaged in a race to come up with a scientifically accurate device that police can use to identify marijuana impairment in drivers. But despite these efforts, progress has been sluggish….
Read More »

Posted in DWI Arrest Procedures | Tagged | Leave a comment

Avoiding DWI During the New Year’s Season

Alcohol DWI

It’s almost 2018, and New Year’s is one of the largest celebrations of the year. New hopes, new dreams, new resolutions – but as you prepare for the New Year, know that it is also one of the most dangerous holidays of the year. Alcohol flows like water on New Year’s and there will no doubt be a slew of Texans experiencing their first DWIs this year. We’re here to make sure you don’t –…
Read More »

Posted in DWI Arrest Procedures, DWI Defenses | Tagged | Leave a comment

To Blow or Not to Blow: Refusing DWI Tests in Texas

Alcohol DWI

If a police officer pulls you over this holiday season under suspicion of DWI, what should you do? Under Texas’s implied consent law, drivers who are lawfully arrested by an officer that has probable cause to believe the drivers are intoxicated are required to submit to chemical testing. The key words, however, are “lawfully arrested.” Often prior to an arrest, police officers will ask drivers suspected of driving under the influence to submit to a…
Read More »

Posted in DWI Arrest Procedures | Tagged | Leave a comment

How a New System Expediting Blood Draw Warrants Changes Drunk Driving Stops

Per KXAN-TV, recently, Texas law enforcement began using a new system that expedites blood draw warrants for driving while intoxicated (DWI) stops. The system is still in the testing phase, but if the testing phase proves successful, this new system could drastically change drunk driving stops going forward. How Does Expediting Blood Draw Warrants Impact Drunk Driving Stops? KXAN-TV reported that Law Enforcement Advanced DWI/DUI Reporting System (LEADRS) representatives are training municipal court judges about…
Read More »

Posted in DWI Arrest Procedures, DWI Defenses | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Texas DWI FAQ, Part 4: How Much Does a DWI Cost Me?

Simply put – DWIs are expensive. There are several financial costs associated with drunk driving convictions, the most obvious of which is fines. Your first offense can cost up to $2,000 from the fine alone. A second offense can run you $4,000, and a third can result in a steep $10,000 charge. And those are just the fines – there are plenty of other hidden costs associated with DWI. For example, you will have to…
Read More »

Posted in DWI Arrest Procedures | Tagged | Leave a comment

Texas DWI FAQ, Part 3: Do I Have to Submit to a Breathalyzer?

Texas’ implied consent law requires drivers to submit to breath or blood tests when suspected of DWI. Of course, you can still refuse, but if you do, you will have your license suspended automatically for 180 days (or more, depending on whether this is your first offense). So, should you refuse a breath test if you think it’s likely that you will blow a .08 or higher? The PBT Officers will sometimes ask you to…
Read More »

Posted in DWI Arrest Procedures | Tagged | Leave a comment

Texas DWI FAQ, Part 2: Can I Say No to Field Sobriety Tests?

The Standardized Field Sobriety Test is a series of tasks police officers like to use when a person is suspected of drunk driving. It consists of three parts: The Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus test, where the officer checks the driver’s eyes for jagged, erratic movement The Walk and Turn, where the officer asks the driver to walk in a straight line, turn, and walk back The One Leg Stand, where the driver is asked to stand…
Read More »

Posted in DWI Arrest Procedures | Tagged | Leave a comment

Texas DWI FAQ, Part 1: How Many Drinks Does It Take to Get to .08 BAC?

In Texas, the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, is 0.08 percent (this may change if the National Transportation Safety Board gets its way – they have been advocating lowering the limit to 0.05). This means that if you have more than 0.08% BAC, you can be arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). A common question we hear is, how much can you drink before you cross the line? The science…
Read More »

Posted in DWI Arrest Procedures | Tagged | Leave a comment

DWI With a Child in the Car? You Could Be Charged with Child Abuse

Texas takes drunk driving very seriously. Our state has consistently held the record for highest number of drunk driving-related deaths, with a person hurt or killed every 20 minutes in the state. In 2014, 1,466 people died in Texas due to drunk driving and a staggering 70,842 people were arrested. With this in mind, it’s no wonder that the penalties for DWI are pretty high. These can include jail time, fines, inability to receive certain…
Read More »

Posted in DWI Arrest Procedures | Tagged | Leave a comment