If you have recently received a DWI, one of the main things that you are probably concerned about is the status of your license. Depending on certain conditions of your DWI conviction, like whether this is your first offense, your blood alcohol level, or whether you injured another driver or pedestrian, your penalties might be more serious. Having your license suspended is one of the most common penalties for DWI in Texas, but there are ways to avoid this punishment once you receive your DWI sentencing.
How Can I Limit the Possibility of License Suspension?
The severity and consequences of your DWI sentence will depend on how the judge views your particular case. There are a few things you can keep in mind during your arrest and after you receive your sentence to limit your chances of license suspension:
– Refusal of breathalyzer test: Police officers in Texas have the right to request a breathalyzer or blood test once you are pulled over under suspicion of driving under the influence. Even though you also have the right to refuse a test, if you do so, you will have your license suspended for 180 days.
– File for an appeal: If you did refuse a breathalyzer or blood test, your license will be seized with a notice of suspension. With that notice, you will be informed of your right to an appeal, and you will have to appeal within 15 days of your arrest. If you file your appeal on time, you will be notified of your DWI hearing date.
– Attend a DWI hearing: At the hearing, you have the opportunity to fight against your license suspension. If you lose, the hearing officer will suspend your license for a specific period of time; this time will depend on whether you refused the breath or blood test, your BAC levels, and whether you had prior convictions or license suspensions.
DWI charges can result in very serious consequences, and having your license suspended can be detrimental to your personal life. Contact our attorneys today so we can represent you in the criminal hearing.