The state of Texas has a specific set of laws involving controlled substances and narcotics. These laws were created in order to prevent the misuse of drugs and drug addiction throughout the state, but the laws can get complicated.
If you are found to be in possession of a controlled substance in Texas, you could face large fines, probation, jail time, required drug treatment, and a suspension of your driver’s license. There are also potential life consequences of a drug conviction that can severely affect you, such as discrimination from employers and a damaged record.
What Are the Penalties for a Controlled Substance Possession Charge?
The specific penalties that you face after a drug possession charge in Texas will vary depending on the circumstances. Your charge could be a Class A misdemeanor, which can carry a penalty for up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000, depending on the specific drug.
If you are found with a larger amount of that same controlled substance, your imprisonment term will increase, with fines of up to $250,000. Other factors will also come into play when determining your penalties, such as if there was an intent to distribute, if there were other drug paraphernalia found (scales) or if you have any previous offenses or convictions.
If you have been charged or arrested with a controlled substance charge in Texas, or if you have been found to possess prescription drugs without a legal prescription, you should immediately contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who can guide you along your next legal steps. Contact the Goolsby Law Firm today for a free consultation.