In Texas, protective orders are granted with the intention of protecting individuals from abusive and violent partners who are trying to cause harm to them or their family. This type of legal order is ordered by the Texas court to stop any child, spousal or domestic abuse from happening again in the future. This is also known as a restraining order, and it can allow for both temporary (up to 20 days) or general (maximum of two years) protection. If a protection order has been filed against you, and you are concerned about how you could violate it, there are a few things you should keep in mind.
What Actions Should I Take in Order to Not Violate a Protection Order?
– Follow the provisions: The most important step in avoiding violating a protection order is to follow the rules. The protection order is valid for as long as the judge specifies, in accordance with the circumstances. Violating an order would mean you are disobeying a direct order from a judge, so it’s important that you pay attention in court and listen to the details your Texas criminal defense lawyer provides about your charges and the specific provisions you’ll need to follow in the given time period.
– Realize best interests: Many times, the judge will want the best-case scenario for you. The protective order can be issued in order to prohibit you from committing any further domestic violence or assault, which will be in the best interest for your spouse, family member, or other person involved. The judge might also require you to attend an assault prevention program, so you can gain more knowledge.
– Respect all parties: It’s crucial that you are respectful of your family member, spouse, or whomever is issuing the protection order. If you go into this process with respect for the other party’s decisions, you’ll be less likely to violate a protection order in the future.
What Are the Repercussions of Violating My Protection Order?
If you are convicted of violating a probation order in Texas, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $4000. If you have two or more previous protection order violation convictions, your charge will be a third-degree felony, which can result in a two to 10-year prison sentence. If you have been charged with violating your protection order, contact the Goolsby Law Firm to get the best criminal defense representation you deserve.
Watch this Goolsby Law Firm video to learn more about protection orders.