A hunter in a wooded area north of Waco recently called police after making a big discovery – 13 patches of marijuana growing, nearly 10,000 plants in all. Police say it may be the largest marijuana operation ever uncovered in Hill County. At the site, deputies discovered temporary living quarters, likely used by harvesters, as well as a kitchen and a gathering area. Most of the marijuana was harvested already, but there were still many plants remaining. No suspects were found, and it took three days for police to destroy the crop.
What Happens If I Am Caught Growing Weed in Texas?
In Texas, it is illegal to cultivate or sell marijuana, or possess it with the intent to do so. But the penalties for being caught cultivating can vary dramatically. Cultivation penalties are based upon the aggregate weight of the plants found. Here is a list of charges and penalties for various amounts of weed:
- 2 oz or less: a misdemeanor charge with a penalty of up to 180 days incarceration and up to $2000 in fines
- 2 to 4 oz: a misdemeanor charge with a penalty of up to one year incarceration and up to $4,000 in fines
- 4 oz to 5 lbs: a felony charge with a penalty of between 180 days and two years incarceration and up to $10,000 in fines.
- 5 to 50 lbs: a felony charge with a penalty of two to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
- 50 to 2000 lbs: a felony charge with a penalty of two to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
- More than 2000 lbs: a felony charge with a penalty of five to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000
As you can see, these penalties can be serious, even for minor grow operations. If you have been charged with cultivation of marijuana, talk to our criminal defense attorney.